arts / Church / poetry / St Paul's

March 31, 2013: He is risen!


He is risen indeed!

What dreadful singing of Jesus Christ Is Risen Today in the Resurrection Day service from Liverpool Cathedral this morning. Sounded more like a funeral dirge.

I’m dressed in party clothes today and hope to be singing Resurrection Day and other happy gospel songs during coffee after this morning’s service. I sang How Can It Be on Good Friday, and also read this remarkable writing from G.A. Studdert Kennedy:

Love Wins

I look upon that body, writhing, pierced
and torn with nails, and see the battlefields
of time, the mangled dead, the gaping wounds,
the sweating, dazed survivors straggling back,
the widows worn and haggard, still dry-eyed,
because their weight of sorrow will not lift
and let them weep; I see the ravished maid,
the honest mother in her shame; I see
all history pass by, and through it all
still shines that face, the Christ Face, like a star
which pierces drifting clouds and tells the Truth …
So through the clouds of Calvary there shines
his face, and I believe that Evil dies,
and good lives on, loves on, and conquers all.
All War must end in Peace. These clouds are lies.
They cannot last. The blue sky is the Truth.
For God is Love. Such is my Faith, and such
my reasons for it, and I find them strong
enough. And you? You want to argue? Well
I can’t. It is a choice. I chose the Christ.

Daffs in the snow outside St Paul's, Manningham, Good Friday, 2013

Daffs in the snow outside St Paul’s, Manningham, Good Friday, 2013

As we left the church I shot the picture of daffodils rising from the churchyard snow as a portent of what was to come.

Gloria's Hot Cross Bun & Butter Pudding, Holy Saturday, 2013

Gloria’s Hot Cross Bun & Butter Pudding, Holy Saturday, 2013

Against Gloria’s better judgement, bought hot cross buns from Morrison’s on Thursday and they were really boring! (If there’s a decent baker’s shop in Bradford I don’t know where it is.)

But Gloria redeemed them by turning them into a rich bread-and-butter pud. She got two puddings out of a pack of six buns.

Hallelujah! Christ is risen. He is risen indeed!

Leave a Reply

