arts / Blues / Christianity / folk / music / Religion

Advent Calendar – December 1


Please come back tomorrow for another posting in my Advent calendar

Leadbelly

Huddie Ledbetter (Lead Belly)

Children all get so happy on a Christmas Day
Children all get so happy on a Christmas Day

Think I heard my momma say it’s Christmas Day
Think I heard my momma say it’s Christmas Day

Think I heard my poppa say it’s Christmas Day
Think I heard my poppa say it’s Christmas Day

Old Santa Claus is coming on a Christmas Day
Old Santa Claus is coming on a Christmas Day

Chicken crows at midnight on a Christmas Day
Chicken crows at midnight on a Christmas Day

Spoken:

Momma say: Christmas is coming.
Children say: We don’t see no Christmas.
Momma say: Well, it’s coming.

 Children all get so happy on a Christmas Day
Children all get so happy on a Christmas Day

Children git out in the yard and play on a Christmas Day
Children git out in the yard and play on a Christmas Day

Children all so happy on a Christmas Day
Children all so happy on a Christmas Day

Everybody gets happy on a Christmas Day
Everybody gets happy on a Christmas Day

Good Lord I get so happy on a Christmas Day
Good Lord I get so happy on a Christmas Day

Leave a Reply

