Activism / arts / Bible / Christianity / Church / Politics / Religion

Advent Sunday – Study War No More . . .


Photo of the Book of Isaiah page of the Bible ...

Photo of the Book of Isaiah page of the Bible (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

"...they shall beat their swords into plo...

“…they shall beat their swords into plowshares, and their spears into pruning hooks: Nation shall not lift up sword against nation, neither shall they learn war any more.” ~ Isaiah 2:4 KJV
Bible verse across the street from the United Nations building.(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

. . . and prepare for the coming of the Bridegroom

Scroll of the Book of Isaiah

Scroll of the Book of Isaiah (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Isaiah 2: 1-5:

The word that Isaiah the son of Amoz saw concerning Judah and Jerusalem.
And it shall come to pass in the last days, that the mountain of the Lord’s house shall be established in the top of the mountains, and shall be exalted above the hills; and all nations shall flow unto it.
And many people shall go and say , Come ye, and let us go up to the mountain of the Lord, to the house of the God of Jacob; and he will teach us of his ways, and we will walk in his paths: for out of Zion shall go forth the law, and the word of the Lord from Jerusalem.
And he shall judge among the nations, and shall rebuke many people: and they shall beat their swords into plowshares, and their spears into pruninghooks: nation shall not lift up sword against nation, neither shall they learn war any more.
O house of Jacob, come ye, and let us walk in the light of the Lord.

Matthew 24: 36-44

But of that day and hour knoweth no man, no, not the angels of heaven, but my Father only.
But as the days of Noe were, so shall alsothe coming of the Son of man be.
For as in the days that were before the flood they were eating and drinking , marrying and giving in marriage , until the day that Noe entered into the ark,
And knew not until the flood came , and took them all away ; so shall also the coming of the Son of man be .
Then shall two be in the field; the one shall be taken , and the other left.
Two women shall be grinding at the mill; the one shall be taken , and the other left.
Watch therefore: for ye know not what hour your Lord doth come.
But know this, that if the goodman of the house had known in what watch the thief would come , he would have watched , and would not have suffered his house to be broken up 
Therefore be ye also ready: for in such an hour as ye think not the Son of man cometh .

A Word of Prophecy: The Coming Of The Bridegroom

Numbers in brackets refer to Biblical references at end of document.

Say this [1] to my people: Prepare [2], for I am coming [3].

I promised, before I was taken, that this generation would not pass away before I returned [4), and it has not passed away.

The generation of the rich has become richer [5], and their oppression of the poor has grown with their riches [6], but the time of their rule is not much longer [7].

The generation of the poor has become poorer [8], and their oppression by the rich has grown with their poverty, but the time of their oppression is not much longer.

These are the Last Times, when the world awaits my return like a bride awaiting her husband, but instead of a time of joyful anticipation it is filled with conflict and despair, when the wife laments her husband, and the father mourns for his son, and the sons of men must sleep in the doorways of your great mansions, and the daughters of men must stand like whores on the street corners of your cities, plying their trade, and it fills their parents’ hearts with anguish.

And the greatest mourning is mine, for my children who are struggling to be born.

The bridegroom’s heart should be filled with joy, as he approaches his bride, but how shall he be joyous, when the wedding breakfast is not prepared, and the celebrations are not ready, and garbage stands in the corners of the room, and the floors are not swept, and the bride not dressed fit for her bridehood?

Shall he not be filled with anger, at your failure to prepare for his coming?

See, you have despoiled my world, and the multitudes of species I placed upon it for your stewardship, and you have not been worthy of the task I gave you. For the air is like a fire in your throat, and the sun is cancerous upon your skin, and the Arctic frosts melt and the seas rise, and many cry: How shall we be saved?

Do not fear, for I will save you. Not from your deserving, but from my great love for you.

The wrath of God is not upon you but upon your sins, and his mercy is upon all those who are the victims of sin, and he himself will clothe you in the garments of righteousness, so that you may welcome your bridegroom at the end of the last days.

Did you think you could clothe yourselves in garments fitting for my coming? There is no tailor, no seamstress, no weaver of fine cloths, no knitter of yarns, no spinner of fibres, no harvester of flax or cotton, no shearer of sheep, no unwinder of the silk cocoon, whose labours are adequate for the task of clothing you, my people.

Only I, your Lord, can clothe you in garments of white, to dazzle the eye like the fire at the heart of the sun, yes even like a furnace of holy flame, fitting for the bride who shall join me in my kingdom, after the end of the last days.

So I say to you: prepare, and I shall help you in your preparations.
Yes even I, the bridegroom, will help you sweep the garbage from the corners of the room, will set out the tables with fine cloths and good things to eat and drink, will lay the places for all your guests. Yes and I shall wash their feet as they arrive, the office of a bride rather than the groom, even as once I washed the feet of my Disciples.

And I shall take holy water, and dampen a cloth, and wipe the dirt from your faces, so that they shine like stars. Your bodies stink with the filth of ages, with the excrement of centuries, still I do not avert my face from you, but rather wash you clean, and scent you with my loving breath at the end of times, as once I breathed my life into you at the beginning of times.

You were dirt, and I raised you from dirt, and breathed my spirit into you like a kiss of life, and you were no longer beasts, but walked like gods in paradise. I told you not to worry yourself with good and evil, for these were my concern, and to live in serenity all your days, but you thought you could be like me, and carry the burden of my knowledge, and you ate the forbidden fruit, and knew sin.

It was not enough for you that you were like gods, but you sought to be alone in your godhood, without me, and I lamented for your rejection.

You had been naked, and happy in your nakedness, but you looked upon each other with lust, and were ashamed, and hid yourself from me.
You tried to escape the consequences of your sin, and blamed each other, and the serpent of your wilfulness, but I was not deceived, for none shall escape the effects of what has been done.

And as you rejected me so my paradise spewed you out, and you fled into the darkness in your nakedness, lamenting at your folly, and the fiery sword that barred your return. Yet I loved you, even then, and clothed you in the skin of a slain beast, the first of many sacrifices for your sake.

You spilled the blood of your brothers and it cried out from the ground for vengeance, but instead I placed my mark upon you, like a rainbow sign, saying that you were my special creatures, and none should harm you.

I sent a flood to cleanse the earth of my Creation, but I saved you, and placed the mark of Cain in the sky as a warning and a promise, for you are my beloved, and even then I was planning the celebrations for our wedding.

And you built altars, and made them scarlet with the slain, and told each other it was my will that many should die, for I had asked for your first-born. But my intention was life, not death, and I turned you away from blood sacrifice, asking instead for your will and your spirit.

But still you did not understand.

You took your women and laid them upon the bloody altars and denied them humanity in the name of their womanhood. It was an abomination you should think your salvation depended upon the degradation of another, and I raised them up and told them a woman should bear the Son of Man, and be an example to the world.

For against the glory of the bridegroom, all are brides, even the kings and champions of your armies, and woman was the pinnacle of my creation, my last and loveliest thought. She shall be the mother of God, and her son has broken the serpent of your will under his own, broken heel.

He came among you like a servant and you treated him accordingly, piercing his body with your nails, even as millions die on the cross of your greed. And as he hung and died, he blessed you, and pleaded for my forgiveness for you, and became the lowest and filthiest and most despised, so that none may be unworthy of my glory, no, not the criminal, the mass murderer, the lonely, the unloved. All, all, are mine, and none is perfect, but his death shall make them perfect, even as he was perfect.

And as he became you so you became him, and there was no wrath in heaven for the broken and lost, but only mercy and love.

And the Gates of Paradise began to open once more, even as they had closed, for the first sin had worked itself out, transformed by my perfect love for you and all your kind into holiness.

You hung a curtain in your temple because you were afraid to look upon me, but I tore it down, and stood before you, the Man of men, and showed you yourselves, like a mirror cleaned of all filth, holy and beloved.

You kneel, and it is right that you kneel, not so much because you are unworthy, but so that you should become worthy to come into my presence. But now I command you: stand up, and prepare yourself for the great celebration.

Prepare, for I am coming. And the place of the wedding should be swept clean, the guests invited, from the highest to the lowest, to sit with me and look upon my bride, who is lovely, and adored.

Do not say to your brother and sister that they are unworthy to sit with me at my wedding banquet, for only those who say so shall be unwelcome. Discover my spirit within you, and clothe yourselves in it, and all shall shine like the morning.

Do not say that some are uninvited, for I have opened my doors to all, and all may come who wish. None will be forced to sit with me, yet all who are hungry may eat, even if my food is strange to them. I wrote down the names of my faithful at the creation of the world, and none can say but I who shall be included, for as I died I called all your names to my father, and he heard me.

The proud shall not come, not because I do not forgive them their pride, but because it stands between them and me, and the harder they seek, the more the darkness of their will stands between us like a cloud, impenetrable. I cannot remove the cloud unless they ask me, but none who ask shall be allowed to remain in darkness, not even the most proud, the arrogant, no, not even the oppressors of humanity and violators of my justice.

There are many who call my Name and do not truly know my love, yet I will love them if they seek me. There are many who deny me but try to do my work, and I forgive them their foolishness, for who shall build an edifice when the foundations are not laid by the Lord? It shall fall, like Babel, yes, like Babylon, and confusion shall turn them to me in their distress.

And I shall not reject them, not even if they wait until the last moment before the end of times, if they call upon me.

But do not wait too long, for I am coming.
Notes:

1      Exodus 3:14
And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.

2              Exodus 15:2
The Lord is my strength and song, and he is become my salvation: he is my God, and I will prepare him an habitation; my father’s God, and I will exalt him.

3              Revelation 3:11
Behold, I come quickly: hold that fast which thou hast, that no man take thy crown.

4              Matthew 24:34
Verily I say unto you, This generation shall not pass, till all these things be fulfilled.

5              2 Samuel 12:1-7
And the Lord sent Nathan unto David. And he came unto him, and said unto him, There were two men in one city; the one rich, and the other poor.
The rich man had exceeding many flocks and herds:
But the poor man had nothing, save one little ewe lamb, which he had bought and nourished up: and it grew up together with him, and with his children; it did eat of his own meat, and drank of his own cup, and lay in his bosom, and was unto him as a daughter.
And there came a traveller unto the rich man, and he spared to take of his own flock and of his own herd, to dress for the wayfaring man that was come unto him; but took the poor man’s lamb, and dressed it for the man that was come to him.
And David’s anger was greatly kindled against the man; and he said to Nathan, As the Lord liveth, the man that hath done this thing shall surely die:
And he shall restore the lamb fourfold, because he did this thing, and because he had no pity.
And Nathan said to David, Thou art the man.

6              Deuteronomy 24:14
Thou shalt not oppress an hired servant that is poor and needy, whether he be of thy brethren, or of thy strangers that are in thy land within thy gates.

7              Job 15:29
He shall not be rich, neither shall his substance continue, neither shall he prolong the perfection thereof upon the earth.

.8             James 5:4
Behold, the hire of the labourers who have reaped down your fields, which is of you kept back by fraud, crieth: and the cries of them which have reaped are entered into the ears of the Lord of sabaoth.

How this Good News came to be written down

When I was a young reporter, my friend and comrade, the news editor of the Daily Worker, Douglas Hyde, converted to Catholicism and urged me to follow suit, to give up the political struggle that meant so much to me. I rejected his advice, but when I came to the Lord in All Soul’s Church, Langham Place, I laid my whole life before him as a sacrifice, and offered to give up anything that was not pleasing to him.

He answered me in an interesting way. I took Confirmation classes, and when I revealed that I had never been baptised, they said I could be baptised in the morning of the day of the Confirmation service. The date was to be May 1, day of celebration for the international working class.

More was to come.

That same evening, I found the church had organised a meeting on Marxism and Christianity, and there I learned for the first time of liberation theology, and how the peasants of Latin America had been inspired in their revolt not by Marx and Engels, but by the promise of the “day of Jubilee” in the Bible, when all debts were to be cancelled and the land redistributed.

Though I am no longer a member of any political party, my time as a Christian has made me more of a revolutionary than ever, though God has taught me that the first revolution must take place in me. I cannot hope to change the world if my personal life is unchanged from the chaos of sexual obsession and alcoholism that it had become. He has also helped me to overcome these obsessions.

As with many Christians who have surrendered their will and their lives to the power of the Holy Spirit, I have had many messages from God, in dreams, thoughts, pictures, remarkably appropriate Biblical texts which answer the problem concerning me.

For instance, when I sought to know why the USSR, with its model constitution, had declined into oppression and exploitation of the very workers it was supposed to defend, my Bible fell open at Psalm 127: “Except the Lord build the house, they labour in vain that build it.”

But one day I received a long message of many words, which began as I drove home to Yorkshire from business in London, with the words repeated in my head over and over: “Say this to my people: Prepare, for I am coming.”

Interestingly, I was feeling far from the Lord at that time, and even felt I might be losing my faith. The next morning, after the words echoed through my sleep all that night, I sat down at my computer and started typing.

This went on for a month or so. Every morning I would wake with words in my head — usually just one sentence — but as soon as I started typing the rest came pouring out. Then, one day, it stopped. Just like that. Message concluded.

Some of what I typed was difficult to understand. Some resonated with what I believe God had been showing me, not only during my short period as a very new Christian, but also in the years before, which are still precious to me as a time of preparation for his work, even though in those days I did not believe in him. Others conflicted with what I sometimes heard preached on Sundays.

Much spoke to me very personally, as if confirming that all my life I had been prepared for that message. I asked myself if this was a sign that it was not God speaking to me, but my own subconscious beliefs and desires. I have prayed long over this, but I am convinced the message is genuinely Divine in origin. Often the devil will place such doubts in our minds, to frustrate what God has planned for us. It happens to me all the time.

One thing is certain. There is nothing in this word that is not already contained in the Bible. Indeed, it says as much, itself. This does not claim to be a new scripture, like the Book of Mormon, or indeed the Qu’Ran. And it has nothing to do with me: I am just the messenger.

Though I am a writer, I have never written anything like this. The words are not mine, at least not consciously.

I showed the message to a Wesleyan minister, who said that he felt that some of it was of God, some not. When I asked which was which, he could not answer. Since then I have shown the words to other ministers, and they confirm my own belief, that this is an important message, from God to his church, that the last days of which he spoke are indeed here, and we have not much time to prepare for the coming of his kingdom here on earth.

One said that many similar messages were being received by Christians throughout the world.

I am by nature something of a rebel, and obedience does not come easy to me, but I am really trying to obey him in this.

It is a hard word, in many ways. I do not expect it to be welcomed by all those to whom it is addressed.Yet if I am commanded to speak to them, how else shall I do so?

My father was a street-corner orator, and I have inherited some of his skills. I am not afraid to stand up and be counted: I did it for 50 years as a Communist, and I did it again though my comrades thought I had taken leave of my senses, when I answered the Lord’s call. Perhaps I should take this word on to the streets.

I have prayed daily for guidance on how to proceed, ever since I first started typing the words down, over a decade ago. Perhaps you can join me in this, and let me know what God is saying to me, through you.

Download and read the whole “Good News” book

LastTimes cover

Another book from Karl Dallas that may interest youWitnesses-Cover

NOTE: It is possible to download free samples of Kindle books, and also “READ INSIDE” them.

Leave a Reply

