Consuming passions

Two funny ways of doing business


Funny way of doing business – 1

Consider this scenario.

A laptop is purchased from a well-known dealer for £475.70.

Not only does it turn out to be faulty, but it doesn’t live up to the requirements specified at the time of purchase.

These shortcomings are drawn to the attention of the company three days after purchase.

They insist on sending the faulty machine back to the manufacturer, who replaces the hard disk and returns it.

Purchaser takes it back to the shop, with £500 burning a hole in his pocket, offering to pay the extra to swap it for a more suitable laptop.

They turn him down.

I am now planning to take the matter to the small claims court to achieve a full refund. Unsurprisingly, I will be taking my thousand pounds-worth of business elsewhere.

NOTE: The name of the retailer has been suppressed, since we are still hoping that wiser counsels will prevail.

Funny way of doing business – 2

In this case, I’m going to name the guilty party: ScottishPower.

Like many energy consumers, I pay a monthly estimate of my energy costs; in  my case: £37 a month.

Since I’m a very economical user, I have built up a credit of £642.53. But they say they want to increase my monthly payments to £42.

ScottishPower scam

How’s that again? They’ve taken over £624 more of my money than they needed? And they’re now planning to take even more?

No way!

Discussions with other energy users indicate that this scam – it is nothing more or less than that – is being applied across the board.

And not only by ScottishPower. It’s a common strategy being tried on by all the big six energy suppliers.

Here’s what I plan to do about this:

  1. I’m demanding they refund my money.
  2. I’m changing to another supplier.

Highly recommended company, OVO, say they can save me £273 if I pay online only, with prices pegged until April 2015, and they will pay me 3% interest if they take more cash than they need.

They have three other simple tariffs:

OVO Energy Plans

A no-brainer, as they say.

One thought on “Two funny ways of doing business

  1. Pingback: Funny way of doing business (contd) | Karl Dallas Day

Leave a Reply

