arts / computing / Google+ / Hangouts

They should call it Hangups on Air!


HOA frustrations

I’m a keen advocate of Google+ Hangouts on Air and I have placed a number of postings recommending them as the next best thing on the Internet. But as I said in The Pro’s and Con’s of HOA, Google keep moving the goalposts.

And while it’s quite simple to set up and run a simple HOA, it’s when you try to execute its most attractive features that you run into trouble.

So far, for instance, I haven’t been able to set up a playlist of Youtube videos to play during the broadcast. Here’s how it went when I tried to do it today. Here’s my opening screen:

HOA opening screen. (It’s mirrored, which is normal; you can flip it if that bothers you.)

HOAfrustrations2-app icons

Move the cursor to left of screen and the various HOA apps icons appear.
Clicking on the Youtube icon displays this information alert.

Clicking on the Youtube icon displays this information alert.

You are invited to click on "ADD VIDEOS TO PLAYLIST".

You are invited to click on “ADD VIDEOS TO PLAYLIST”.

There’s a search option which looks through the entire Youtube database and show the results.

In my case, being an egocentric, I searched on my own videos!
In my case, being an egocentric, I searched on my own videos!

So far, so good. Each of the videos in the list has a green plus mark beside it, indicating you can add it to your playlist.

ONLY IT DIDN’T WORK!

Except it just did.

I’ve been trying to make it work on a brand new PC and ran into all sorts of frustrations. So I went back to an older laptop and I was able to create the playlist, nae bother.

The playlist has been saved. But will it play?

The playlist has been saved. But will it play?

Where’s my problem, you ask? Well, since I’m setting up HOA for clients who may want to create their own HOAs, how can I be certain that their hardware will also refuse to work?

And when I ran my HOA and tried to run the Youtube playlist, all you see is me just sitting there, looking like a lemon.

So here’s the short version of my HOA frustrations:

1. Setting up a Youtube playlist within HOA didn’t work on one machine, but seemed to work fine on a different laptop.

2. But when I broadcast the HOA and ran the playlist, any viewers got to see nothing, zilch, rien, nada – except me looking vacantly at the screen.

If anyone can explain why it’s not working I’d appreciate hearing from them.

Here, by the way, is the playlist as it can be seen on Youtube:

Leave a Reply

