arts / music

God Only Knows – the Beach Boys’ best song on BBC?


Is God Only Knows the Beach Boys’ best song?

The BBC obviously thinks so.

Here’s the 27-star strong video they transmitted yesterday – and I loved every minute of it:

And here’s the inevitable “making of” backroom video:


Here is the full cast list and the lines they sing/perform:
Martin James Bartlett – celeste
Pharrell Williams – I may not always love you
Emeli Sande – But as long as there are stars above you
Elton John – You never need to doubt it
Lorde – I’ll make you so sure about it
Chris Martin – God only knows what I’d be without you
Brian Wilson – If you should ever leave me (piano)
Florence Welch – Well life would still go on believe me
Kylie Minogue – The world could show nothing to me
Stevie Wonder – So what good would living do me
Eliza Carthy – God only knows what I’d be without you
Nicola Benedetti – violin
Jools Holland – piano
Brian May – electric guitar
Jake Bugg – lalalala
Katie Derham – violin
Tees Valley Youth Choir – God only knows
Alison Balsom – piccolo trumpet
One Direction – God only knows what I’d be without you
Jaz Dhami – God only knows what I’d be without you
Paloma Faith – God only knows what I’d be without you
Chrissie Hynde – God only knows
Jamie Cullum – God only knows what I’d be without you
Baaba Maal – God only knows
Danielle de Niese – God only knows what I’d be without you
Dave Grohl – God only Knows
Sam Smith – God only knows what I’d be without you
Brian Wilson – God only knows what I’d be without you

Interesting to compare this collective effort with what the BBC did with Lou Reed’s Perfect Day back in 1997:

To my mind it’s superior, even though the production absolutely ignored the dark implications of a “perfect day” when a junkie gets his fix!

What’s your favourite Beach Boys’ song? Please post a comment.

Leave a Reply

