arts / BCB / Classical Hour

2 on 2sday February 10, 2015


2on2sdaylogo

This latest edition of the 2s on 2sday HOA session covers the 2015 Oscars and the Ilkley Film Festival, celebrates the Royal Opera House presentation of Brecht/Weill’s Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny, and reviews a new CD of Russian Sacred Music.

♦ Links to Weill/Brecht items on Amazon UK

From the book, Trash

My name is Raphael Fernandez and I am a dumpsite boy-
People say to me, “I guess you just never know what you’ll find, sifting through rubbish!
Today could be your lucky day.” I say to them, “Friend, I think I know what I find.” And I know
what everyone finds, because I know what we’ve been finding for all the years I’ve been working,
which is eleven years. It’s the one word: stuppa, which means – and I’m sorry if I offend – it’s our
word for human muck. I don’t want to upset anyone, that’s not my business here. But there’s a
lot of things hard to come by in our sweet city, and one of the things too many people don’t have
is toilets and running water. So when they have to go, they do it where they can. Most of those
people live in boxes, and the boxes are stacked up tall and high. So, when you use the toilet, you
do it on a piece of paper, and you wrap it up and put it in the trash. The trash bags come
together. All over the city, trash bags get loaded onto carts, and from carts onto trucks or even
trains – you’d be amazed at how much trash this city makes. Piles and piles of it, and it all ends
up here with us. The trucks and trains never stop, and nor do we. Crawl and crawl, and sort and
sort.

Purchase the book, Trash, by Andy Mulligan, from Amazon UK.

♦ The DVD of the movie, Trash will be published on June 8, 2015, price £12.50 (Blu-Ray £17.50). Pre-order Trash [DVD] from Amazon UK.

One thought on “2 on 2sday February 10, 2015

Leave a Reply

