Activism / Bible / Christianity / Church / Gospel / Jesus / Politics / Religion

Vote for Jesus


♥ This is a text of a leaflet I distributed in the streets in 1991. I believe it is still appropriate today, not just for Christians, but for people of all faiths, and none. ♥

It’s election time – and politicians are seeking your support. Before you vote, consider what Jesus taught us, and how the candidates match up to that teaching.

He commanded us to care for the poor.

For the homeless.

For the sick.

For those in prison.

For those who have come from foreign lands to live among us.

When you vote for THEM, you are voting for HIM.

Many politicians claim to be religious. But Jesus said: By their fruits we shall know them (Matthew 7: 20) Fine words are only empty air, and not meat and drink.

Ask the candidates what they are going to do to help the homeless sleeping on our streets.

What they are going to do about the fact people are dying because there are not enough beds in the hospitals to treat them.

Why we have more people in jail than ever before, and we have the worst crime wave ever, too.

And then ask yourself what YOU are doing about these things.

Because just voting’s not enough. It’s only a start.

Vote for the poor, the sick, the homeless, the wrongly imprisoned, and those from other lands who live among us.

“Thou shalt open thine hand wide unto thy brother, to thy poor, and to thy needy in the land.”

Deuteronomy 15: 11

“The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the broken-hearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised.”

Luke 4: 18

“. . . I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in:
“Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me.
“Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink?
“When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee?
“Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee?
“And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.”

Matthew 25: 35-40

” . . . if a stranger sojourn with thee in your land, ye shall not vex him.
“But the stranger that dwelleth with you shall be unto you as one born among you, and thou shalt love him as thyself; for ye were strangers in the land of Egypt: I am the Lord your God.”

Leviticus 19: 34

Leave a Reply

